Maryland men’s lacrosse wins national title, completes school sweep

WASHINGTON — The Maryland men’s lacrosse team won its first national title in 42 years and completed a sweep for the Terps, joining the women’s team as NCAA Champions.

The Terrapins beat Big Ten conference-mates Ohio State 9-6 Monday in Foxboro, just over three weeks after defeating the Buckeyes by a 10-9 score to win the conference title.

Tim Rotanz led the way for the Terps, scoring three times on seven shots. Adam DiMillo and Dylan Maltz added two goals apiece, while leading goal-scorers Connor Kelley and Matt Rambo tallied one each. Goalie Dan Morris made 11 saves and allowed just six goals, nearly three below his season goals-against average.

Maryland watched an 8-3 advantage slip as close as 8-6 within the final minutes before Rotanz’s final score with just under a minute remaining sealed the game.

This was Maryland’s third straight trip to the national title game, but their first championship since 1975. The women’s team beat Boston College 16-13 on Sunday for their third title in four years, finishing the season with a perfect 23-0 record.

Copyright © 2022 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, written or redistributed.

Like WTOP on Facebook and follow @WTOP on Twitter to engage in conversation about this article and others.

© 2017 WTOP. All Rights Reserved.

More from WTOP

Log in to your WTOP account for notifications and alerts customized for you.

Sign up