Montgomery Co. public library system announces reopening plans

The list of locations reopening in Montgomery County, Maryland, is growing, and now includes public libraries.

According to the county’s library system reopening schedule, 13 of its branches will open in June in phases as part of its Phase 1 plans.

Six public libraries — Gaithersburg, Connie Morella (Bethesda), Rockville, Silver Spring, Olney and Marilyn Praisner (Burtonsville) — will reopen on Tuesday.

Seven more branches will reopen on June 14. They include Aspen Hill, Damascus, Davis, Little Falls, Long Branch, Potomac and Quince Orchard.

The libraries will reopen with no capacity limits, no social distancing requirements and no appointments. All guests will be encouraged to follow safety precautions, including no eating or drinking, wearing a face covering at all times, maintaining some distance and washing their hands before and after each visit.

The Holds to Go services at each branch will be discontinued.

All remaining branches, except for Germantown and Noyes Library for Young Children, will reopen on July 6.

More information can be found on the Montgomery County library system’s website.

More Coronavirus News

Looking for more information? D.C., Maryland and Virginia are each releasing more data every day. Visit their official sites here: Virginia | Maryland | D.C.


Like WTOP on Facebook and follow WTOP on Twitter and Instagram to engage in conversation about this article and others.

Get breaking news and daily headlines delivered to your email inbox by signing up here.

© 2021 WTOP. All Rights Reserved. This website is not intended for users located within the European Economic Area.

Federal News Network Logo

More from WTOP

Log in to your WTOP account for notifications and alerts customized for you.

Sign up