Washington Nationals announce 2015 opening day roster

WASHINGTON — On Sunday, the Washington Nationals announced their 2015 opening day 25-man roster.

The squad comprises 12 pitchers — nine right-handed, three left-handed — two catchers, six infielders and five outfielders.

Three players who joined Nats’ spring training as non-roster invitees made the club: infielder/outfielder Clint Robinson, second baseman Dan Uggla, and outfielder Reed Johnson.

The following Nationals will begin the 2015 season on the 15-day disabled list, retroactive to March 27:

  • RHP Erik Davis (right elbow surgery)
  • RHP Casey Janssen (right shoulder inflammation)
  • OF Nate McLouth (right shoulder surgery)
  • INF Anthony Rendon (left knee sprain)
  • OF Denard Span (right core muscle surgery)
  • OF Jayson Werth (right AC joint surgery)

Here’s the full roster.


  • RHP Aaron Barrett
  • RHP Doug Fister
  • RHP Tanner Roark
  • RHP Max Scherzer
  • RHP Craig Stammen
  • RHP Stephen Strasburg
  • RHP Drew Storen
  • RHP Blake Treinen
  • RHP Jordan Zimmermann
  • LHP Xavier Cedeno
  • LHP Gio Gonzalez
  • LHP Matt Thornton


  • C Jose Lobaton (S)
  • C Wilson Ramos


  • SS Ian Desmond
  • INF Yunel Escobar
  • INF Danny Espinosa
  • INF/OF Clint Robinson
  • 2B Dan Uggla
  • 1B Ryan Zimmerman


  • OF Matt den Dekker
  • RF Bryce Harper
  • OF Reed Johnson
  • OF/INF Tyler Moore
  • CF Michael A. Taylor

Follow @WTOP on Twitter and WTOP on Facebook.

© 2015 WTOP. All Rights Reserved.

More from WTOP

Log in to your WTOP account for notifications and alerts customized for you.

Sign up