Prince George’s County election results: Alsobrooks secures Democratic nomination

Incumbent Angela Alsobrooks crested on a wave of popularity and secured the Democratic nomination for the top office in Prince George’s County, Maryland.

The current Prince George’s County executive is considered a shoo-in for reelection, winning the Democratic primary four years ago with nearly 62% of the vote and 99% in the general election.

Tuesday’s primary election shows her winning more than 90% of the votes over her four challengers — Sherman Hardy, Tonya Sweat, Leigh Bodden and Billy W. Bridges.

Still, it could be several days before the final race outcomes are known — especially in close races. As of Monday, there were more than 28,000 mail-in ballot returned by voters — the figure does not include those ballots dropped off on primary day, itself — and those ballots won’t even start being counted until Thursday at 10 a.m.

Prince George’s County Council

In Prince George’s County Council races, incumbent council members in four of the district seats are stepping down due to term limits, and some newcomers are vying for seats that could change the makeup of the 11-member council. This comes following a controversy over a redrawn district map that was later thrown out by Maryland’s high court.

Five Democrats are running in District 6 to succeed Derrick Leon Davis, who stepped down last May following the controversy over the redistricting plan for the council.

With early voting and a fraction of Tuesday’s in-person votes counted, it’s a close race among Wala Blegay, Barbara Holt Streeter and Denise G. Smith, with Belinda Queen and Nakia Wright trailing them. The district includes District Heights, Largo and  the unincorporated parts of Bowie, Capitol Heights and Upper Marlboro. With all 39 precincts reporting, Blegay leads with more than 31% of early voting and primary day in-person votes.

The lone Republican running for his party’s nomination in District 7 — which includes Capitol Heights, Marlow Heights, Suitland and Temple Hills — is Gary Falls. He faces the winner of the Democratic primary, currently being fought among incumbent Rodney Streeter, Anita G. Naves and Krystal Oriadha. Oriadha currently leads with early voting and primary day in-person votes counted and 25 of 31 precincts reporting.

The incumbents for the two at-large council seats — Mel Franklin and Calvin S. Hawkins Jr. — are currently in the lead with all 327 election precincts reporting and their five Democratic challengers trailing behind as of Wednesday.

In District 2, it’s still neck-and-neck between Wanika Fisher and Victor Ramirez, with election day ballots resulting in 49.3% for the former and 46.6% for the latter. Three candidates are vying to represent the district — which includes Adelphi, Chillum, Hyattsville and Mount Rainer — and replace Deni Taveras, who is stepping down to run for state delegate.

For the race in District 3 (College Park, Lanham, Glenn Dale and Woodlawn), Eric C. Olson secured more than 50% of the election day vote.

Ingrid S. Harrison leads the pack in District 4 with all election day precincts reporting. Harrison has more than 50% of the votes over her Democratic challengers for the area that includes Bowie, Greenbelt and Upper Marlboro.

Edward Burroughs III took more than 72% of the Democratic vote late Tuesday night, with all but one District 8 precinct reporting. This includes the areas of Camp Springs, Clinton, Oxon Hill and Temple Hills.

Lastly, in District 9 — which includes Accokeek, Brandywine, Fort Washington and Upper Marlboro — Sydney Harrison leads over Democratic rivals with more than 68% of the votes and all 41 precincts reporting.

In District 1, Council member Thomas Dernoga is running unopposed for reelection, and in District 5, Jolene Ivey is running unopposed.

You can see the unofficial election results on the Maryland State of Board of Elections website.

WTOP’s Jack Moore contributed to this story. 

Abigail Constantino

Abigail Constantino started her journalism career writing for a local newspaper in Fairfax County, Virginia. She is a graduate of American University and The George Washington University.

Federal News Network Logo
Log in to your WTOP account for notifications and alerts customized for you.

Sign up