Maryland lacrosse teams take titles in 2017 Big Ten Tournament

WASHINGTON – The top-seeded Maryland men’s lacrosse team won the 2017 Big Ten Tournament title after posting a 10-9 win over second-seeded Ohio State in the championship game at Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium on Saturday night.

The Terrapins’ Connor Kelly led all scorers with five goals.

Colin Heacock scored the game-winner with 3:27 remaining, securing Maryland’s fifth goal of the fourth quarter.

Ohio State was led offensively by Big Ten Freshman of the Year Tre Leclaire, who totaled four points with three goals and an assist.

Maryland goalie Dan Morris recorded eight saves in the win.

Maryland won its second straight Big Ten Tournament title and earns the conference’s automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament.

In women’s lacrosse, the University of Maryland trounced Northwestern 14-6 at College Park to take their second Big Ten title.

The Terps’ Caroline Steele came out as the top scorer with four goals.

Kali Hartshorn and Zoe Stukenberg were right behind her with three goals each.

Goalie Megan Taylor stymied Northwestern scorers with 16 saves.

In terms of pure stats, Northwestern’s biggest number was 39 … fouls.

WTOP’s William Vitka contributed to this report.

More from WTOP

Log in to your WTOP account for notifications and alerts customized for you.

Sign up