Who will be the next racing president?

WASHINGTON (AP) – The Washington Nationals are hosting a second round of tryouts for positions as the team’s four presidential mascots.

Saturday’s tryouts are by invitation only. The team’s four mascots are the presidents found on Mount Rushmore: George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Abraham Lincoln and Theodore Roosevelt.

To qualify, potential mascots have to be able to wear a costume weighing about 45 pounds for several hours. They also have to be able to run from center field to home plate in 40 seconds. That’s because since 2006 the presidents have raced against one another in the fourth inning.

WTOP’s Maria Hallas was at the event, check out her footage below:

(Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

Federal News Network Logo
Log in to your WTOP account for notifications and alerts customized for you.

Sign up