Sponsored by Navy Federal Credit Union
TRAFFIC ALERT In Prince George’s County, on the Outer Loop of the Beltway before St. Barnabas Road, traffic gets by on the far left lane.

2013 RAMMY Award nominees

WASHINGTON – The District’s top chefs and restaurateurs gathered at The Hamilton in D.C. Tuesday to hear the finalists of the 2013 RAMMY Awards.

Known as the “Oscars of D.C. area restaurants,” the RAMMYs recognize chefs and restaurants in 16 categories. Any member of the Restaurant Association Metropolitan Washington is eligible. The winners will be announced at the 31st annual RAMMY Awards Gala June 23 at the Marriot Wardman Park Hotel.

Here are this year’s nominees:

Fine Dining Restaurant of the Year

  • The Ashby Inn & Restaurant
  • Blue Duck Tavern
  • The Bombay Club
  • Marcel’s
  • Rasika

Upscale Casual Restaurant of the Year

  • Birch and Barley
  • Cork Wine Bar
  • Estadio
  • Jaleo – Penn Quarter
  • KAZ Sushi Bistro

Casual Restaurant of the Year

  • Bar Pilar
  • Bayou Bakery
  • C. F. Folks
  • Nando’s Peri-Peri
  • Pete’s New Haven Style Apizza

Neighborhood Gathering Place of the Year

  • Boqueria
  • DGS Delicatessen
  • Fuego Cocina y Tequileria
  • Mintwood Place
  • Rasika West End

Chef of the Year

  • Tony Conte – The Oval Room
  • Haidar Karoum – Estadio/Proof
  • Tarver King – The Ashby Inn and Restaurant
  • Cedric Maupillier – Mintwood Place
  • Fabio Trabocchi – Fiola

Rising Culinary Star of the Year

  • Scot Harlan – Green Pig Bistro
  • Tim Ma – Maple Avenue Restaurant
  • Marjorie Meek-Bradley – Ripple
  • John Melfi – Blue Duck Tavern
  • Nathan Shapiro – The Ashby Inn and Restaurant

Pastry Chef of the Year

  • Beverly Bates – Vidalia
  • Peter Brett – Blue Duck Tavern
  • Alison Reed – Ripple
  • Susan Wallace – BlackSalt Fish Market & Restaurant
  • Tom Wellings – Fiola

Wine Program of the Year

  • Adour
  • The Ashby Inn and Restaurant
  • Dino
  • Marcel’s
  • Ripple

Beverage/Mixology Program of the Year

  • Birch & Barley/Churchkey
  • Bourbon Steak
  • EatGoodFood Group
  • Rasika
  • Room 11

Power Spot of the Year

  • The Bombay Club
  • Johnny’s Half Shell
  • P. J. Clarke’s
  • Seasons
  • The Source by Wolfgang Puck

Hottest Restaurant Bar Scene of the Year

  • Bar Pilar
  • Fiola
  • Fuego Cocina y Tequileria
  • Hank’s Oyster Bar – Capitol Hill
  • Jack Rose Dining Saloon

Manager of the Year

  • Joseph Cerione – Blue Duck Tavern
  • Justin Guthrie – Estadio
  • Alex Mu

Advertiser Content