French Open Men’s Champions

1925_Rene Lacoste, France

1926_Henri Cochet, France

1927_Rene Lacoste, France

1928_Henri Cochet, France

1929_Rene Lacoste, France

1930_Henri Cochet, France

1931_Jean Borotra, France

1932_Henri Cochet, France

1933_Jack Crawford, Australia

1934_Gottfried von Cramm, Germany

1935_Fred Perry, Britain

1936_Gottfried von Cramm, Germany

1937_Henner Henkel, Germany

1938_Don Budge, United States

1939_Don McNeill, United States

1940-45_No tournament

1946_Marcel Bernard, France

1947_Joszef Asboth, Hungary

1948_Frank Parker, United States

1949_Frank Parker, United States

1950_Budge Patty, United States

1951_Jaroslav Drobny, Egypt

1952_Jaroslav Drobny, Egypt

1953_Ken Rosewall, Australia

1954_Tony Trabert, United States

1955_Tony Trabert, United States

1956_Lew Hoad, Australia

1957_Sven Davidson, Sweden

1958_Mervyn Rose, Australia

1959_Nicola Pietrangeli, Italy

1960_Nicola Pietrangeli, Italy

1961_Manolo Santana, Spain

1962_Rod Laver, Australia

1963_Roy Emerson, Australia

1964_Manolo Santana, Spain

1965_Fred Stolle, Australia

1966_Tony Roche, Australia

1967_Roy Emerson, Australia

1968_Ken Rosewall, Australia

1969_Rod Laver, Australia

1970_Jan Kodes, Czechoslovakia

1971_Jan Kodes, Czechoslovakia

1972_Andres Gimeno, Spain

1973_Ilie Nastase, Romania

1974_Bjorn Borg, Sweden

1975_Bjorn Borg, Sweden

1976_Adriano Panatta, Italy

1977_Guillermo Vilas, Argentina

1978_Bjorn Borg, Sweden

1979_Bjorn Borg, Sweden

1980_Bjorn Borg, Sweden

1981_Bjorn Borg, Sweden

1982_Mats Wilander, Sweden

1983_Yannick Noah, France

1984_Ivan Lendl, Czechoslovakia

1985_Mats Wilander, Sweden

1986_Ivan Lendl, Czechoslovakia

1987_Ivan Lendl, Czechoslovakia

1988_Mats Wilander, Sweden

1989_Michael Chang, United States

1990_Andres Gomez, Ecuador

1991_Jim Courier, United States

1992_Jim Courier, United States

1993_Sergi Bruguera, Spain

1994_Sergi Bruguera, Spain

1995_Thomas Muster, Austria

1996_Yevgeny Kafelnikov, Russia

1997_Gustavo Kuerten, Brazil

1998_Carlos Moya, Spain

1999_Andre Agassi, United States

2000_Gustavo Kuerten, Brazil

2001_Gustavo Kuerten, Brazil

2002_Albert Costa, Spain

2003_Juan Carlos Ferrero, Spain

2004_Gaston Gaudio, Argentina

2005_Rafael Nadal, Spain

2006_Rafael Nadal, Spain

2007_Rafael Nadal, Spain

2008_Rafael Nadal, Spain

2009_Roger Federer, Switzerland

2010_Rafael Nadal, Spain

2011_Rafael Nadal, Spain

2012_Rafael Nadal, Spain

2013_Rafael Nadal, Spain

2014_Rafael Nadal, Spain

2015_Stan Wawrinka, Switzerland

2016_Novak Djokovic, Serbia

2017_Rafael Nadal, Spain

2018_Rafael Nadal, Spain

2019_Rafael Nadal, Spain

2020_Rafael Nadal, Spain

2021_Novak Djokovic, Serbia

2022_Rafael Nadal, Spain

2023_Novak Djokovic, Serbia

2024_Carlos Alcaraz, Spain

NOTE: Before 1925, French Open was restricted to French players.

Copyright © 2024 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, written or redistributed.

Federal News Network Logo
Log in to your WTOP account for notifications and alerts customized for you.

Sign up