College Football Playoffs teams announced

WASHINGTON — Clemson, Oklahoma, Georgia and Alabama have been selected as the four teams for this year’s College Football Playoff.

No. 1 seed Clemson will play 4 seed Alabama in the Sugar Bowl semifinal with No. 2 seed Oklahoma playing No. 3 seed Georgia in the Rose Bowl semifinal. Both games will be played on New Year’s Day.

Will Vitka

William Vitka is a Digital Writer/Editor for He's been in the news industry for over a decade. Before joining WTOP, he worked for CBS News, Stuff Magazine, The New York Post and wrote a variety of books—about a dozen of them, with more to come.

Federal News Network Logo
Log in to your WTOP account for notifications and alerts customized for you.

Sign up