Terrapin wins second MAC Hermann Trophy

WASHINGTON – Patrick Mullins, in what University of Maryland officials are calling the most decorated men’s soccer career in the school’s history, has won his second straight Missouri Athletic Club’s (MAC) Hermann Trophy.

The Hermann is given to the best female and male players in NCAA Division I soccer, and it is the equivalent of the Heisman Trophy for football. Mullins is the first Terrapin to win back-to-back trophies, according to the school. He capped his senior year with 46 points on 19 goals and eight assists. His point and goal totals were tied for the fifth-highest single season in the university’s history.

The winner is selected in two ways: a vote by the NCAA Division I soccer coaches who are current members of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA), and a weighted fan vote hosted at the MAC website.

As far as his career totals, Mullins leaves the school second in Terp history with 47 goals and 119 points. He is a two-time First Team All-Atlantic Coast Conference player, a two-time All-ACC Championship Most Valuable Player, and a 2013 College Cup All-Tournament Team honoree. He led the Terps to a nation-best 13th straight NCAA Round-of-16 in 2013, and captured the ACC regular season and tournament titles for the second consecutive season.

By winning the Hermann two years in a row, he joins the ranks of U.S. National Team forward Mia Hamm,who won it in 1992 and 1993, and National Soccer Hall of Famer Al Trost, who took it home in 1969 and 1970.

Follow @WTOPSports and @WTOP on Twitter.

Advertiser Content