Data Doctors: Can I remove the Share option in Facebook

PHOENIX, Ariz. – Sherwin asks: “How do I turn off the Facebook Share button on my posts and photos so that no one can share my status or any post, especially photos.”

Facebook has built the largest social network in the world with over 1.1 billion active users per month and one of the key drivers of this growth is the ease in which things can be shared.

Sharing content is a fundamental precept of all social networks so asking how to turn it off kind of goes against the core of the network that you chose to join.

This fundamental misunderstanding of what social networking is, has led to many embarrassing situations over the years by politicians, celebrities and average users.

You must remember that as a user of Facebook you are not the customer; you are the product!

Now that Facebook is a publicly traded company they’re even more focused on generating revenue from our activities allowing advertisers to target ads at us based on what we like, share and comment on.

This is not to say that you have no control over who sees what you post; but if you post anything on Facebook and others can see it, it can be


Advertiser Content