Oregon State finishes off rain-delayed 11-6 victory over UC Irvine to win Corvallis Regional

CORVALLIS, Ore. (AP) — Elijah Hainline hit a three-run home run to spark a five-run second inning and No. 15 national seed Oregon State pulled away to beat UC Irvine 11-6 on Monday, winning the rain-delayed Corvallis Regional and grabbing a spot in the super regionals.

Oregon State (45-14) had to wait a day to advance after the game was suspended Sunday night with the Beavers leading 6-4 in the bottom of the fourth inning. Oregon State hits the road to take on No. 2 national seed Kentucky in the best-of-three Lexington Super Regional, beginning Friday or Saturday.

Dub Gleed had a three-run home run to cap a four-run bottom of the first inning for UC Irvine (45-14) off Beavers starter Eric Segura.

Oregon State answered with a five-run second inning and never trailed again.

UC Irvine starter Nick Rincover left after issuing a leadoff walk to begin the big inning. David Utagawa took the mound and walked Wilson Weber. Hainline homered to center field to drive in three. Traves Bazzana added a sacrifice fly and Gavin Turley drove in the fifth run with a two-out double.

Mason Guerra had an RBI single and Dallas Macias drew a bases-loaded walk in the top of the fifth to put Oregon State ahead 8-5.

Gleed hit a solo shot in the bottom of the inning for the Anteaters’ final run.

Micah McDowell drove in a run in the sixth with a two-out, bases-loaded infield single. Guerra hit a solo shot in the eighth and Macias hit the team’s 118th homer of the season — a two-run shot in the ninth.

Hainline, Guerra and Jabin Trosky bat 7-8-9 in the order, respectively. All three had two hits, combining for five RBIs and six runs scored.

Reliever AJ Hutcheson (4-2) was tabbed for the win. He retired all four batters he faced, striking out one.

Utagawa (3-1) did not retire a batter in taking the loss. He gave up four runs on two hits and two walks.

Oregon State beat the Anteaters 5-3 on Saturday.

Oregon State has been to the College World Series seven times, most recently in 2018 when the Beavers beat Arkansas 5-0 to win their third championship. Oregon State also posted back-to-back CWS titles in 2006-07, beating North Carolina both times.

UC Irvine made CWS appearances in 2007 and 2014. The Anteaters won back-to-back championships at the Division II level in 1973-74.


AP college sports: https://apnews.com/hub/college-sports

Copyright © 2024 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, written or redistributed.

Federal News Network Logo
Log in to your WTOP account for notifications and alerts customized for you.

Sign up