WTOP wins five Edward R. Murrow awards

WASHINGTON – WTOP has won five Regional Edward R. Murrow awards including recognition for its breaking news coverage of the Navy Yard shooting.

The Radio Television and Digital News Association, which presents the awards, also honored WTOP with the award for overall excellence.

WTOP also won in the following categories:

  • Feature Reporting:

    VE Day at the WWII Memorial

    Kristi King, WTOP

  • Sports Reporting:

    Capitals’ Dentist

    Jonathan Warner, WTOP Sports

  • Hard News Feature:

    Not so friendly skies

    Lori Lundin, WTOP

The five regional submissions will go on to compete at the national level. The Edward R. Murrow awards pay tribute to Murrow’s work and honors excellence in electronic journalism.

“It’s especially gratifying when you win more than any other station in, what I believe is, one of the most competitive markets in the country,” says Senior News Director Mike McMearty. “These awards are a reflection of the hard work and dedication of the entire WTOP newsroom staff.”

WTOP has won 18 major journalism award this year including National Headliner awards and Virginia Associated Press Broadcasters awards.

Listen to a portion of our team coverage the day Aaron Alexis opened fire at his workplace, killing 12 people at the Washington Navy Yard.

Navy Yard shooting Sept. 16, 2013

WTOP Staff

Follow @WTOP on Twitter and on Facebook.

Federal News Network Logo
Log in to your WTOP account for notifications and alerts customized for you.

Sign up