Butkus Award Winners

2020_Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah, Notre Dame

2019_Isaiah Simmons, Clemson

2018_Devin White, LSU

2017_Roquan Smith, Georgia

2016_Reuben Foster, Alabama

2015_Jaylon Smith, Notre Dame

2014_Eric Kendricks, UCLA

2013_C.J. Mosley, Alabama

2012_Manti Te’o, Notre Dame

2011_Luke Kuechly, Boston College

2010_Von Miller, Texas A&M

2009_Rolando McClain, Alabama

2008_Aaron Curry, Wake Forest

2007_James Laurinaitis, Ohio State

2006_Patrick Willis, Mississippi

2005_Paul Posluszny, Penn State

2004_Derrick Johnson, Texas

2003_Teddy Lehman, Oklahoma

2002_E.J. Henderson, Maryland

2001_Rocky Calmus, Oklahoma

2000_Dan Morgan, Miami

1999_LaVar Arrington, Penn State

1998_Chris Claiborne, Southern Cal

1997_Andy Katzenmoyer, Ohio State

1996_Matt Russell, Colorado

1995_Kevin Hardy, Illinois

1994_Dana Howard, Illinois

1993_Trev Alberts, Nebraska

1992_Marvin Jones, Florida State

1991_Erick Anderson, Michigan

1990_Alfred Williams, Colorado

1989_Percy Snow, Michigan State

1988_Derrick Thomas, Alabama

1987_Paul McGowan, Florida State

1986_Brian Bosworth, Oklahoma

1985_Brian Bosworth, Oklahoma

Copyright © 2021 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, written or redistributed.

Related Categories:

College Football | Other Sports News | Sports

This article was written by WTOP’s news partner, NBC Sports Washington. Sign up for NBC Sports Washington’s free email subscription today.

More from WTOP

Log in to your WTOP account for notifications and alerts customized for you.

Sign up