How did local lawmakers vote on Obamacare repeal?

WASHINGTON — More than a month after a Republican health care bill seeking to replace the Affordable Care Act failed to gain enough leverage for a vote, a retooled version narrowly passed the House Thursday.

How did local lawmakers vote? Entirely along party lines — with one notable exception.

Republican Barbara Comstock, a second-term congresswoman in Virginia’s 10th congressional district, voted against the American Health Care Act.

The district Comstock represents includes all of Frederick and Loudoun counties and parts of Fairfax and Prince William counties — and was handily won by Democrat Hillary Clinton in the 2016 presidential election. Already, at least six Democrats are exploring running against Comstock in 2018.

The GOP health care bill, boosted by with last-minute lobbying by the White House, passed on a 217-213 vote. All told, 20 Republicans voted against the measure, including Comstock.

Republican Rob Wittman, who had opposed the first iteration of the GOP health care bill, voted yes this time. His district includes parts of Faquier, Prince William and Faquier counties.

Maryland’s lone Republican congressman, Andy Harris, who represents the Maryland’s Eastern Shore, voted for the bill.

Democrats in Maryland and Virginia joined the rest of their colleagues in the House in voting against the measure.

Here’s a full breakdown of how lawmakers in Maryland and Virginia voted on the measure:


  • Rob Wittman (R, 1st district) — YES
  • Scott Taylor (R, 2nd district) — YES
  • Bobby Scott (D, 3rd district) — NO
  • Donald McEachin (D, 4th district) — NO
  • Thomas Garrett Jr. (R, 5th district) — YES
  • Bob Goodlatte (R, 6th district) — YES
  • Dave Brat (R, 7th district) — YES
  • Don Beyer (D, 8th district) — NO
  • Morgan Griffith (R, 9th district) — YES
  • Barbara Comstock (R, 10th district) — NO
  • Gerry Connolly (D, 11th district) — NO


  • Andy Harris (R, 1st district) — YES
  • Dutch Ruppersberger (D, 2nd district) — NO
  • John Sarbanes (D, 3rd district) — NO
  • Anthony Brown (D, 3rd district) — NO
  • Steny Hoyer (D, 3rd district) — NO
  • John Delaney (D, district) — NO
  • Elijah Cummings (D, district) — NO
  • Jamie Raskin (D, district ) — NO

Like WTOP on Facebook and follow @WTOP on Twitter to engage in conversation about this article and others.

© 2017 WTOP. All Rights Reserved.

Jack Moore

Jack Moore joined as a digital writer/editor in July 2016. Previous to his current role, he covered federal government management and technology as the news editor at, part of Government Executive Media Group.

Federal News Network Logo

More from WTOP

Log in to your WTOP account for notifications and alerts customized for you.

Sign up