Cash is flowing into DC area congressional races

WASHINGTON — Millions of dollars are pouring into key congressional races in Maryland and Virginia ahead of June’s primaries.

In Northern Virginia, the heated 10th Congressional District race, is drawing much of the money. Rep. Barbara Comstock, who faces Republican challenger Shak Hill June 12, is a key target for Democrats. She raised more money than any other congressional candidate in the state in the first three months of the year: $875,488.

Comstock had $1,820,738 on hand as of March 31, according to new campaign finance reports.

Five of the six Democratic candidates lined up for the chance to take on Comstock in November have well over six figures in hand with two months to go until the primary. The five, Alison Friedman, state Sen. Jennifer Wexton, Dan Helmer, Lindsey Davis Stover, and Paul Pelletier even have more cash on hand than some incumbents in other districts across the state.

Rep. Gerry Connolly in the 11th District has the most cash on hand of any U.S. House candidate in the area, $3,090,074.

In the most high profile intraparty race set to be decided by a gathering of party faithful in May rather than June’s open primary, there has been less of a focus on money. The Republican candidates in the 6th Congressional District each report less than $60,000 cash on hand as of the end of March.

None of the totals include any fundraising by political action committees, even those that have largely backed specific individual candidates.

In Maryland, the open 6th Congressional District is drawing the most attention, after Democratic Rep. John Delaney’s decision not to run for another term.

Among the many active Democrats ahead of the June 26 primary, David Trone gave his campaign another $3 million in late February and early March, leaving his campaign with $1,546,020 on hand even after a series of television commercials. Del. Aruna Miller has $941,481 on hand, with more raised this year from individual donors than her opponents.

Nadia Hashimi has $302,482 on hand, including a previous $225,000 loan she gave the campaign, while state Sen. Roger Manno has $274,397 on hand.

On the Republican side, Amie Hoeber raised $127,044 in the first three months of the year in her second run at the 6th District seat.

There are a total of four Republicans and eight Democrats running in the Sixth District, who will face a Libertarian and likely a Green Party candidate in November.

In Maryland, each party has a primary. In Virginia, only Republicans have a U.S. Senate primary.

On top of the federal offices, Maryland has extremely crowded fields for a number of local county offices and in the Democratic race for governor.

In Virginia, the June primary includes Democratic races for Alexandria City Council and mayor and Arlington County Board.

In D.C., voters cast ballots June 19 in a primary and on an initiative to raise the minimum wage for tipped workers.

List of candidates in congressional races with primaries

Maryland U.S. Senate Republican primary:

  • Tony Campbell of Baltimore County
  • Chris Chaffee of Calvert County
  • Evan Cronhardt of Anne Arundel County
  • Nnabu Eze of Baltimore County
  • John Graziani of Anne Arundel County
  • Christina Grigorian of Montgomery County
  • Albert Binyahmin Howard of Anne Arundel County
  • Bill Krehnbrink of Baltimore County
  • Gerald Smith Jr. of Cecil County
  • Blaine Taylor of Baltimore County
  • Brian Charles Vaeth of Baltimore County

Maryland U.S. Senate Democratic primary:

  • Sen. Ben Cardin
  • Erik Jetmir of Prince George’s County
  • Chelsea Manning, registered in Montgomery County
  • Marcia Morgan of Montgomery County
  • Jerry Segal of Montgomery County
  • Rikki Vaughn of Baltimore County
  • Rica Wilson of Charles County
  • Lih Young of Montgomery County

Maryland 1st Congressional District


  • Rep. Andy Harris of Baltimore County
  • Martin Elborn of Queen Anne’s County
  • Lamont Taylor of Caroline County


  • Michael Brown of Wicomico County
  • Jesse Colvin of Baltimore County
  • Allison Galbraith of Harford County
  • Erik Lane of Harford County
  • Michael Pullen of Talbot County
  • Steve Worton of Harford County

Maryland 2nd Congressional District


  • Liz Matory of Montgomery County
  • Hubert Owens Jr. of Anne Arundel County
  • Mark Shell of Baltimore County
  • Mitchell Toland of Baltimore County


  • Rep. Dutch Ruppersberger of Baltimore County
  • Jake Pretot of Howard County

Maryland 3rd Congressional District


  • Charles Anthony of Montgomery County
  • Thomas “Pinkston” Harris of Baltimore City
  • Rob Seyfferth of Anne Arundel County


  • Rep. John Sarbanes of Baltimore County
  • Adam DeMarco of Baltimore City
  • John Rea of Anne Arundel County
  • Eduardo Rosas of Howard County

Maryland 4th Congressional District

No primary. Rep. Anthony Brown (Democrat) will face George McDermott (GOP) and Dave Bishop (Libertarian) in November.

Maryland 5th Congressional District


  • William Devine III of Prince George’s County
  • Johnny Rice of Prince George’s County


  • Rep. Steny Hoyer of St. Mary’s County
  • Dennis Fritz of Charles County

Maryland 6th Congressional District


  • Kurt Elsasser of Washington County
  • Amie Hoeber of Montgomery County
  • Lisa Lloyd of Montgomery County
  • Brad Rohrs of Montgomery County


  • Andrew Duck of Frederick County
  • George English of Montgomery County
  • Chris Graves of Montgomery County
  • Nadia Hashimi of Montgomery County
  • Chris Hearsey of Montgomery County
  • Roger Manno of Montgomery County
  • Del. Aruna Miller of Montgomery County
  • David Trone of Montgomery County

Maryland 7th Congressional District


  • Ray Bly of Howard County
  • Richmond Davis of Howard County
  • William Newton of Baltimore County
  • Michael Pearson of Baltimore City


  • Rep. Elijah Cummings of Baltimore City
  • Anthony Carter Sr. of Baltimore City
  • John Moser of Baltimore City
  • Charles U. Smith of Baltimore City
  • Charles Stokes of Baltimore County

Maryland 8th Congressional District


  • Bridgette Cooper of Montgomery County
  • John Walsh of Montgomery County
  • Victor Williams of Montgomery County


  • Rep. Jamie Raskin of Montgomery County
  • Utam Paul of Montgomery County
  • Summer Spring of Montgomery County

Virginia 1st Congressional District (held by Republican Rep. Rob Wittman)


  • Vangie A. Williams of King George County
  • John B. Suddarth of Prince William County
  • Edwin Santana Jr. of Stafford County

Virginia 2nd Congressional District


  • Elaine G. Luria of Hampton Roads
  • Karen Powers Mallard of Virginia Beach


  • Scott W. Taylor of Virginia Beach
  • Mary K. Jones of James City County

Virginia 6th Congressional District


  • Sergio A. Coppola II of Rockingham County
  • Jennifer Lynn Lewis of Augusta County
  • Peter J. Volosin of Roanoke County
  • Charlotte Ann Moore of Roanoke County

Virginia 4th Congressional District


  • Ryan A. McAdams of Charles City County
  • Shion A. Fenty of Chesterfield County

Virginia 7th Congressional District


  • Abigail A. Spanberger of Henrico County
  • Daniel K. Ward of Orange County

Virginia 9th Congressional District


  • Anthony J. Flaccavento of Washington County
  • Justin D. Santopietro of Montgomery County

Virginia 10th Congressional District


  • Lindsey Davis Stover of Fairfax County
  • Jennifer T. Wexton of Loudoun County
  • Paul E. Pelletier of Fairfax County
  • Alison K. Friedman of Fairfax County
  • Dan I. Helmer of Fairfax County
  • Julia E. Biggins of Prince William County


  • Shak E. Hill of Fairfax County
  • Rep. Barbara J. Comstock of Fairfax County
Federal News Network Logo
Log in to your WTOP account for notifications and alerts customized for you.

Sign up