November 14, 2014 9:20 pm
WASHINGTON – Drivers who don’t pay their tolls in Maryland will soon face a stiff penalty. Starting Tuesday, they can have problems re-registering your car.
Drivers who don’t pay tolls will soon receive a notice of toll due, which will include a picture of their car and license plate. Drivers will have 30 days to pay without penalties or additional fees.
Those drivers who do not pay within 30 days of that notice will receive a civil citation and a $50 fine for each unpaid transaction.
Drivers who continue to ignore citations can now be stopped from re-registering their cars, or even have their vehicle registration suspended.
Follow @WTOP on Twitter.
A look at the winter weather news in the D.C. area.
Browse through photos of the event and festivities in New York City.