WTOP wins national award for bin Laden newscast

The night America learned of bin Laden's death

wtopstaff | November 14, 2014 8:15 am

Download audio

WASHINGTON – WTOP-FM is honored to be the 2012 winner of the national Edward R. Murrow Award for “Best Newscast.”

Edited by Thomas Warren, and led by anchors Dimitri Sotis and Rosemary Frisino-Toohey, the 6 p.m. newscast on May 2, 2011 featured WTOP’s news team gathering reaction in the hours after President Obama announced the death of Osama bin Laden.

“This is a great honor for a great group of women and men who work very hard in the WTOP Newsroom,” said Jim Farley, the station’s vice president of news and programming. “They’re the most competitive bunch of news folks I have ever seen.”

In the past four years, WTOP has won 11 National Murrows, including “Overall Excellence” twice.

Established in 1971 by the Radio Television Digital News Association, the Murrow Awards honor excellence in electronic journalism.

To listen to the entry, click play in the box to the right.

Follow WTOP on Twitter.

(Copyright 2012 by WTOP. All Rights Reserved.)

Advertiser Content