WTOP Takes Home Six 2024 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards

For Immediate Release                                                                                                    May 29, 2024

Washington, D.C. – WTOP has won six Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards this week from the Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA).

The WTOP newsroom was recognized as a whole in the Continuing Coverage category for coverage of the Crisis in the Middle East, the Newscast category for our July 2023 coverage of the Commanders sale and the Overall Excellence category. The WTOP digital team was recognized overall in the Digital category for WTOP.com. Individual awards went to WTOP reporter Matt Kaufax in the Feature Reporting category for his piece on Martin’s Tavern turning 90 and to WTOP Associate Producer Veronica Canales in the Excellence in Writing Category for her piece on the Dr. Seuss Experience.

“Our team’s mission every day is to deliver the latest news to the DC region and help the people who live in our communities,” said Julia Ziegler, WTOP’s Director of News and Programming. “It is a huge honor to be recognized for that work with six regional Murrow awards.”


The RTDNA first established the Murrow awards in 1971 to pay tribute to Edward R. Murrow and his many journalism accomplishments. Annually presented by the RTDNA, the Edward R. Murrow Awards recognize outstanding achievements in journalism on the regional and national level.


WTOP now advances to the national round of the competition where it will compete against regional winners from across the country.


About WTOP

WTOP serves the Washington D.C. metro area 24/7 with news, traffic and weather.  WTOP can be heard on 103.5 FM, 107.7 FM and 103.9 FM. WTOP’s live stream and news content are available on any device at WTOP.com, the WTOP app and on smart speaker devices.  WTOP and its sister news operation, Federal News Network, are owned by Hubbard Radio, LLC.



Elly Rowe


Log in to your WTOP account for notifications and alerts customized for you.

Sign up