WTOP Honored with Eight 2022 Dateline Awards, including the Prestigious Robert D.G. Lewis Watchdog Award

For Immediate Release                                                                                                                                       June 16, 2022


WTOP Honored with Eight 2022 Dateline Awards, including the Prestigious Robert D.G. Lewis Watchdog Award


 Washington D.C. – WTOP took home 8 Dateline Awards from the Society of Professional Journalists D.C. Chapter Tuesday night, most notably, the Robert D.G. Lewis Watchdog Award presented to WTOP investigative journalists Megan Cloherty and Jack Moore.


Cloherty and Moore were recognized with this award for their investigation into Washington D.C.’s Department of Forensic Sciences. Their reporting uncovered misattributed evidence, deliberately concealed findings from an inspector general’s report and complaints about the D.C. crime lab’s leadership that went unheeded.


“It was a complete surprise and honestly a little emotional to accept the award in front of our peers at the National Press Club,” Cloherty said. “Jack and I have worked so hard to get every side of this story and to tell what is a document-heavy investigation in as narrative a way as possible. It means a lot that our fellow journalists in D.C. see the value of our work and the change it has made in holding the Department of Forensic Sciences accountable to the people it serves.”


The Robert D.G. Lewis Watchdog Award is one decided upon by committee members based on all entries in all categories of the Dateline Awards. This award is presented to a journalist or group who exemplifies journalism aimed at protecting the public from abuses by those who would betray the public trust.


“We are extremely proud of the entire WTOP news team,” said Julia Ziegler, WTOP’s Director of News and Programming. “As journalists, it is our job to keep the public informed, provide the facts and demand transparency. It is also our privilege to serve the public and our community.”


In addition to the Robert D.G. Lewis Watchdog Award, WTOP also received 7 other Dateline 2022 Awards. A complete list of WTOP’s first place honors include:



Winner: Alejandro Alvarez, WTOP.com


Feature Photography

Winner: Dave Dildine, WTOP.com


Non-Breaking News

Winner: Megan Cloherty, WTOP, “Policing Through Change”


Investigative Journalism

Winner: Megan Cloherty and Jack Moore, WTOP, “D.F.S. Scandal”


Breaking News

Winner: Staff, WTOP, Capitol Insurrection


All Divisions/Blog or Site

Winner: Staff, WTOP, WTOP.com site


Editorial/Opinion Writing

Winner: Joel Oxley, WTOP, “Enough is Enough.”


The Dateline Awards are presented for excellence in TV, radio, newspaper, magazine, newsletter/trade publication, and online journalism, encompassing breaking news, business writing, commentary, photography, and more. All work was published or broadcast in 2021.


About SPJ-DC

The Society of Professional Journalists is the nation’s most broad-based journalism organization, dedicated to encouraging the free practice of journalism and stimulating high standards of ethical behavior. Founded in 1909 as Sigma Delta Chi, SPJ promotes the free flow of information vital to a well-informed citizenry through the daily work of its roughly 6,000 members; works to inspire and educate current and future journalists through professional development; and protects First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press through its advocacy efforts.


About WTOP

WTOP has served the Washington region since 1926 and has been in the news format since 1969. WTOP is the Washington’s top news source, serving the metro area 24/7 with news, traffic and weather.  WTOP can be heard on 103.5 FM in the metro area, 107.7 FM in Stafford, Virginia and 103.9 FM in Frederick, Maryland. WTOP’s live stream and news content is available on any device at WTOP.com.  WTOP and its sister news operation, Federal News Network, are owned by Hubbard Radio, LLC.

# # #


Elly Rowe



Log in to your WTOP account for notifications and alerts customized for you.

Sign up