Nationals’ Ryan Zimmerman Weekend fan guide: Schedule, giveaways, guests

Ryan Zimmerman Weekend fan guide: Schedule, giveaways, guests originally appeared on NBC Sports Washington

This weekend will feature one of the biggest highlights of the Nationals’ season when the club hosts a ceremony to retire Ryan Zimmerman’s No. 11 jersey.

During the two-day celebration, the Nationals will honor their inaugural draft pick by holding Q&A sessions with former players, giving away free T-shirts and selling limited-edition items like bobbleheads and commemorative tickets.

Here’s everything you need to know.



1:05 p.m.: Game 1 of Nationals-Phillies doubleheader

5:30 p.m.: Gates open back up for all fans

6-6:20 p.m.: Q&A session with former players on top of visitor’s dugout hosted by MASN’s Bob Carpenter

6-6:20 p.m.: Fans not in attendance can stream a Q&A session with former players hosted by 106.7 The Fan’s Dave Jageler and Charlie Slowes on Instagram

6:20-6:40 p.m.: Q&A session with Ryan Zimmerman on top of visitor’s dugout hosted by MASN’s Bob Carpenter

7:05 p.m.: Game 2 of Nationals-Phillies doubleheader


2:30 p.m.: Gates open for all fans

3:10 p.m.: On-field ceremony for Ryan Zimmerman begins

4:35 p.m.: First pitch of Nationals-Phillies

The Nationals encourage fans to arrive to the ballpark early and be in their seats by 3:00.



Ryan Zimmerman Employee No. 11 adult T-shirts (first 25,000 fans 21 and up)


2006 Ryan Zimmerman Employee kids jersey T-shirt (first 10,000 fans 12 and under)

Limited-edition merchandise

In addition to the free T-shirts fans can collect, the Nationals will also be selling exclusive Ryan Zimmerman merchandise at their team store including a “Mr. National” bobblehead and commemorative tickets.

Former players in attendance

The Nationals invited the following former players to participate in the festivities:

SS Ian Desmond (played for WSH from 2009-15)

2B Danny Espinosa (2010-16)

1B Adam LaRoche (2011-14)

UTIL Jordy Mercer (2021)

OF Laynce Nix (2011)

C Brian Schneider (2005-07)

OF Jayson Werth (2011-17)

SP Gio González (2012-18)

SP Jordan Zimmermann (2009-15)

More from WTOP

Log in to your WTOP account for notifications and alerts customized for you.

Sign up