Facts and figures for the PGA Championship at Oak Hill

PITTSFORD, N.Y. (AP) — A brief look at the 105th PGA Championship:

Dates: May 18-21

Site: Oak Hill CC (East).

Length: 7,394 yards.

Par: 70.

Field: 156 players (20 PGA professionals).

Prize money: TBA ($15 million in 2022).

Winner’s share: TBA ($2.7 million in 2022).

Defending champion: Justin Thomas.

Last year: Justin Thomas won the PGA Championship for the second time and tied the tournament record by rallying from seven shots behind. He closed with a 3-under 67 at Southern Hills and then beat Will Zalatoris in a three-hole playoff. Mito Pereira had a one-shot lead going to the 18th hole and made double bogey to finish one shot out of the playoff.

Last time at Oak Hill: Jason Dufner won his only major when he closed with a 2-under 68 for a two-shot victory over Jim Furyk. Dufner finished at 10-under 270, the lowest winning score for any major at Oak Hill.

Tiger Tales: Tiger Woods had ankle surgery last month and will miss the PGA Championship, and likely the rest of the majors this year.

Grand Slam: Jordan Spieth tries for the seventh time to complete the career Grand Slam at the PGA Championship.

Major champions at Oak Hill: Jason Dufner (2013 PGA Championship), Shaun Micheel (2003 PGA Championship), Curtis Strange (1989 U.S. Open), Jack Nicklaus (1980 PGA Championship), Lee Trevino (1968 U.S. Open), Cary Middlecoff (1956 U.S. Open).

Tale of the tape: Oak Hill is 260 yards longer than 10 years ago when it last held the PGA Championship.

Key statistic: In the last 10 years, every major championship winner has been among the top 50 in the world except for 50-year-old Phil Mickelson (No. 115) in 2021.

Noteworthy: Collin Morikawa is the only PGA Championship winner in the last five years who had never won a major. That’s the fewest of the four majors since 2018.

Quoteworthy: “I’m starting to build back some momentum.” — Phil Mickelson, a runner-up at the Masters at age 52.

Television (all times EDT): Thursday-Friday, 7 a.m. to 1 p.m. (ESPN+), 1 p.m. to 7 p.m. (ESPN); Saturday-Sunday, 8 a.m. to 10 a.m. (ESPN+), 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. (ESPN), 1 p.m. to 7 p.m. (CBS).


AP golf: https://apnews.com/hub/golf and https://twitter.com/AP_Sports

Copyright © 2023 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, written or redistributed.

Federal News Network Logo

More from WTOP

Log in to your WTOP account for notifications and alerts customized for you.

Sign up