Giolito, McCullers among 6 elected to MLBPA leadership roles

SCOTTSDALE, Ariz. (AP) — The Major League Baseball Players Association has elected six new players to its eight-member executive subcommittee.

Astros pitcher Lance McCullers Jr., Cardinals pitcher Jack Flaherty, Cubs outfielder Ian Happ, Giants outfielder Austin Slater, White Sox pitcher Lucas Giolito and Rockies pitcher Brent Suter are the new members. Rangers infielder Marcus Semien and Mets infielder Francisco Lindor both remain part of the committee.

The MLBPA confirmed Monday that the six additions were elected to two-year terms. Representatives from each of the 30 MLB teams vote for the leadership positions.

Zack Britton, Jason Castro, Gerrit Cole, Andrew Miller, James Paxton and Max Scherzer are the six players who completed their two-year terms and will now rotate off the executive subcommittee.


AP MLB: and

Copyright © 2023 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, written or redistributed.

Related Categories:

MLB News | Sports

More from WTOP

Log in to your WTOP account for notifications and alerts customized for you.

Sign up