District remembers Metro crash victims 3 years later

The aftermath of the 2009 crash is seen. (AP File)
Metro rider thankful she didn't get on train that crashed

wtopstaff | November 14, 2014 8:40 am

Download audio

WASHINGTON – The nine people killed in a Metrorail crash in June 2009 in Northeast D.C. have been honored with a plaque near the crash site.

Friday’s unveiling of the plaque marked the 3-year anniversary of the crash, which was the deadliest in the transit system’s history.

D.C. Mayor Vincent Gray joined relatives of crash victims, first responders and the chairman of the National Transportation Safety Board at the site.

A malfunctioning electronic circuit led to the crash, in which two trains collided near the Fort Totten station. A train operator and eight passengers were killed. Eighty others were injured.

In addition to the plaque, plans are under way for a memorial park and garden.

Here are the names of the nine who died:

  • Mary “Mandy” Doolittle, 59, of D.C.;
  • Ana Fernandez, 40, of Hyattsville, Md.;
  • Dennis Hawkins, 64, of D.C.;
  • Lavonda “Nikki” King, 23, of D.C.;
  • Veronica Dubose, 29, of D.C.;
  • Cameron Williams, 37, of D.C.;
  • Maj. Gen. David F. Wherley Jr., of D.C.;
  • Ann Wherley, 62 of D.C.;
  • Jeanice McMillan, 42, of Springfield, Va., the operator of the striking train.

Related Stories:

Follow WTOP on Twitter.

(Copyright 2012 by WTOP. All Rights Reserved.)

Advertiser Content