18 new speed camera zones coming to Montgomery Co.

Kristi King, wtop.com

BETHESDA, Md. – Police are playing peek-a-boo now with speed cameras in Montgomery County.

Eighteen new speed camera enforcement areas in the county will not feature fixed cameras in permanent locations.

Instead portable speed camera units will be continuously moved throughout the length of monitored roadways, according to a news release from Montgomery County Police.

Police will begin to use the new portable speed camera units in the newly designated corridors within two weeks. The first week the cameras are used they’ll only flash. Police will begin to issue tickets during the second week.

The goal of the new approach is to prevent drivers from slowing down only where they’re accustomed to seeing speed cameras.

Police say road signs in enforcement corridors will warn drivers they’re approaching an automated speed enforcement zone. But police will no longer announce when and exactly where portable cameras will be active.

Under Maryland law motorists can only receive speed camera tickets if they’re exceeding the speed limit by more than 11 mph. Violations are $40 issued to the register owner of the vehicle.

Here are the locations of the new Montgomery County speed cameras:

  • In Silver Spring
    • 10400 Block of Tenbrook Drive
    • 8900 Block of 16th Street
    • 22400 Block of Dickerson Road
    • 13500 Block of Layhill Road

  • In Damascus
    • 10900 Block of Kingstead Road

  • In Aspen Hill
    • 14600 Block of Homecrest Road

  • In Olney
    • 17100 Block of Bowie Mill Road
    • 3400 Block of Laytonsville Road

  • In Derwood
    • 17100 Block of Redland Road

  • In Germantown
    • 18400 Block of Cinnamon Drive
    • 19200 Block of Father Hurley Boulevard
    • 19350 Block of Father Hurley Boulevard

  • In Montgomery Village
    • 18600 Block of Montgomery Village Avenue
    • 19800 Block of Montgomery Village Avenue

  • In Clarksburg
    • 24100 Block of Ridge Road
    • 25800 Block of Ridge Road

  • In Bethesda
    • 7000 Block of Wilson Lane

  • In Gaithersburg
    • 8100 Block of Midcounty Highway

The Montgomery County Police Department has additional information speed and red light cameras on the department’s Automated Traffic Enforcement Unit page.

Prince George’s County also has a new speed camera in place near Barnaby Manor Elementary School in Oxon Hill.

Follow WTOP on Twitter.

(Copyright 2012 by WTOP. All Rights Reserved.)

Advertiser Content