Incumbents ousted in Loudoun Co.

LEESBURG, Va. – Michael Chapman ousted incumbent Loudoun County Sheriff Steve Simpson, 54 percent to 36 percent.

On the Board of Supervisors, two incumbents lost their seats: Jim Burton will be replaced by Janet Clarke, and Andrea McGimsey will be replaced by Shawn Williams.

Kenneth Reid defeated incumbent C. Kelly Burk by 188 votes.

Also winning seats on the board are Ralph Buona, Suzanne Volpe, Geary Higgins and Matthew Letourneau.

In the Loudoun County School Board races, incumbents Thomas Reed and Brenda Sheridan were re-elected.

In a race that’s undeclared, William “Bill” Fox is ahead of incumbent Tom Marshall by a slim margin, 44 percent to 42 percent.

Kevin Kuesters and Jeffrey Morse won open seats.

Debbie Rose and Eric Hornberger won newly created seats.

Jill Turgeon defeated incumbent Priscilla Godfrey by 366 votes.

In Loudoun County, by a vote of 58 percent to 42 percent, voters approved a $169 million bond referendum for new schools and renovations. The funds will be used to build two elementaries — one in Moorefield Station and one on the county-owned Farmwell site, as well as a middle school on the Newton-Lee Elementary School site and a high school in the Ashburn. Renovations also will be done at Park View High School.

Loudoun voters agreed to spend $3 million on new fire and rescue equipment. The vote was 71 percent to 28 percent.

In Leesburg, voters decided to change the election date for the mayor and town council. Beginning in 2012, the mayor and council will be elected in November, rather than in May.

All election results are unofficial until certified by the state.

Follow WTOP on Twitter.

(Copyright 2011 by WTOP. All Rights Reserved.)

Advertiser Content