Texas wins 4th straight 800 free relay at NCAA championships

MINNEAPOLIS (AP) — Texas won its fourth consecutive 800-yard freestyle relay on Wednesday night at the NCAA men’s swimming and diving championships.

Luke Hobson (1:29.63), Coby Carrozza (1:30.50), Peter Larson (1:33.14), and Carson Foster (1:30.15) finished the 800 free relay in an NCAA record time of 6:03.42. Arizona State finished second at 6:05.08, with Leon Marchand anchoring in a 1:28.42 – the fastest split in history.

Texas finished 12th in the 200-yard medley relay with a season-best 1:22.94.

Kacper Stokowski, Mason Hunter, Nyls Korstanje and David Curtiss secured North Carolina State’s first program victory in the 200-yard medley relay. N.C. State crushed the NCAA record with a time of 1:20.67 — breaking Florida’s record 1:21.13 last year — and Arizona State took second at 1:21.07 for a school record.

Arizona State leads the standings of the four-day competition with 68 points after a pair of second-place finishes. N.C. State is second with 66 and California third with 62.

Thursday’s events include the 500-yard freestyle, 200-yard IM, 1-meter diving and the 50-yard freestyle.


More AP sports: https://apnews.com/hub/apf-sports and https://twitter.com/AP_Sports

Copyright © 2023 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, written or redistributed.

Federal News Network Logo

More from WTOP

Log in to your WTOP account for notifications and alerts customized for you.

Sign up