Chuck Bednarik Award Winners

Winners of the Chuck Bednarik Award for the outstanding collegiate defensive player:

2021_Jordan Davis, Georgia

2020_Zach Collins, Tulsa

2019_Chase Young, Ohio State

2018_Josh Allen, Kentucky

2017_Minkah Fitzpatrick, Alabama

2016_Jonathan Allen, Alabama

2015_Tyler Matakevich, Temple

2014_Scooby Wright III, Arizona

2013_Aaron Donald, Pittsburgh

2012_Manti Te’o, Notre Dame

2011_Tyrann Mathieu, LSU

2010_Patrick Peterson, LSU

2009_Ndamukong Suh, Nebraska

2008_Rey Maualuga, Southern California

2007_Dan Connor, Penn State

2006_Paul Posluszny, Penn State

2005_Paul Posluszny, Penn State

2004_David Pollack, Georgia

2003_Teddy Lehman, Oklahoma

2002_E.J. Henderson, Maryland

2001_Julius Peppers, North Carolina

2000_Dan Morgan, Miami

1999_LaVar Arrington, Penn State

1998_Dat Nguyen, Texas A&M

1997_Charles Woodson, Michigan

1996_Pat Fitzgerald, Northwestern

1995_Pat Fitzgerald, Northwestern

Copyright © 2022 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, written or redistributed.

Related Categories:

College Football | Other Sports News | Sports

More from WTOP

Log in to your WTOP account for notifications and alerts customized for you.

Sign up