Maryland’s Hogan joins New England GOP govs. in not signing Barrett letter

CONCORD, N.H. (AP) — Three New England governors, along with Maryland’s Larry Hogan, are not joining their Republican peers in signing a letter urging the Senate to confirm Judge Amy Coney Barrett to the U.S. Supreme Court.

Twenty-four of the nation’s 28 Republican governors signed the letter praising Barrett’s background and philosophy.

Along with Hogan, those not signing include Govs. Chris Sununu of New Hampshire, Charlie Baker of Massachusetts and Phil Scott of Vermont.

Sununu’s spokesperson told WMUR-TV that he didn’t sign the letter because as governor, he has no role in the confirmation process.

However, he did sign letters supporting Trump’s previous nominations of Supreme Court Justices Neil Gorsuch and Brett Kavanaugh.

Copyright © 2020 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, written or redistributed.

Like WTOP on Facebook and follow @WTOP on Twitter to engage in conversation about this article and others.

Get breaking news and daily headlines delivered to your email inbox by signing up here.

© 2020 WTOP. All Rights Reserved. This website is not intended for users located within the European Economic Area.

More from WTOP

Log in to your WTOP account for notifications and alerts customized for you.

Sign up