USA Today’s Epstein wins award as emerging NFL writer

Jori Epstein, who covers the Dallas Cowboys and the NFL for USA Today, has been selected as the 2022 Terez A. Paylor Emerging Writer Award winner by the Professional Football Writers of America.

Epstein, the second Paylor Award winner, has covered the league and the Cowboys for USA Today since 2018. Epstein was also a finalist for last year’s inaugural award won by Jourdan Rodrigue of The Athletic.

The Paylor Award recognizes a rising talent in pro football writing who exemplifies the qualities of Paylor, the former Yahoo! Sports and Kansas City Star football writer who passed away in February 2021 at the age of 37.

Epstein, a graduate of the University of Texas, started her career at the Dallas Morning News and she also worked for Sports Illustrated and the Philadelphia Daily News. Her book “The Upstander,” a non-fiction account about Holocaust survivor and activist Max Glauben, was published in 2021.

The other finalists for the 2022 award were Michael-Shawn Dugar (The Athletic), Emmanuel Morgan (New York Times) and Tashan Reed (The Athletic).


More AP NFL: and and

Copyright © 2022 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, written or redistributed.

Related Categories:

Entertainment News | NFL News | Sports

Like WTOP on Facebook and follow WTOP on Twitter and Instagram to engage in conversation about this article and others.

Get breaking news and daily headlines delivered to your email inbox by signing up here.

© 2022 WTOP. All Rights Reserved. This website is not intended for users located within the European Economic Area.

More from WTOP

Log in to your WTOP account for notifications and alerts customized for you.

Sign up