Australian Open: Dominant Djokovic wins 18th major title

MELBOURNE, Australia (AP) — A quick look at the last day of the 2021 Australian Open:

Novak Djokovic won his ninth Australian Open championship and 18th Grand Slam title overall with a 7-5, 6-2, 6-2 win over No. 4 Daniil Medvedev in the men’s final at Rod Laver Arena on Sunday. The No. 1-ranked Djokovic improved to 9-0 in finals at Melbourne Park and closed the gap on rivals Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal for most Slam trophies won by a man. They each have 20. Medvedev took a 20-match winning streak into the final and had won his previous dozen matches against Top 10 players but he was no match for the man who has never lost a semifinal or final at the Australian Open. Djokovic became the second man in history to win at least nine titles at one Grand Slam event; Nadal has won 13 at Roland Garros. This is also the second time Djokovic has won three consecutive Australian Open titles; he also did it from 2011-13. Naomi Osaka won the women’s final 6-4, 6-3 over Jennifer Brady on Saturday to collect her second Australian Open championship and fourth Grand Slam title overall. She is 4-0 in major finals.


Cloudy, high of 21 degrees Celsius (70 Fahrenheit).


Men’s Singles Final: No. 1 Novak Djokovic beat No. 4 Daniil Medvedev 7-5, 6-2, 6-2.

Men’s Doubles Final: No. 9 Ivan Dodig and Filip Polasek beat No. 5 Rajeev Ram and Joe Salisbury 6-3, 6-4.


18-0 — Djokovic’s combined record in semifinals and finals at Melbourne Park.


“I’d like to thank Rod Laver Arena. I love you each year, more and more. It has been a love affair that keeps growing.” — Djokovic.


More AP tennis: and

Copyright © 2021 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, written or redistributed.

More from WTOP

Log in to your WTOP account for notifications and alerts customized for you.

Sign up