RSS Feeds

Places covered Voting Rights Act's section

Wednesday - 2/27/2013, 4:49pm  ET

The Associated Press

States covered in whole by the Voting Rights Act's prior-approval requirement for changes in the way elections are held:

-- Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, South Carolina, Texas, Virginia (except a handful of Virginia counties and local governments that have been excluded with court approval).

States in which some counties and local jurisdictions are covered:

-- California, Florida, Michigan, New Hampshire (all 10 towns covered are awaiting court approval to exit the program), New York, North Carolina, South Dakota.

Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.