Comment
1
Tweet
5
Print
RSS Feeds

Erasing yourself from the Internet

Sunday - 11/3/2013, 1:54pm  ET

WASHINGTON - If you've had your fill of Facebook or are tired of Twitter and want to unplug, Gizmodo offers tips to erase yourself from the Internet.

On Facebook, deactivating your account is under "Account settings," then "Security." There is a tab "Deactivate your account." But that won't completely eliminate it. For that, you need to go to the Delete my Account page and click the blue button. That will drop you from Facebook.

On Twitter, you quit by clicking on "Deactivate my account," but Twitter will hold your information for 30 days. You'll be erased from Twitter after that.

There is also software available for helping you disappear from the Internet, including the descriptive titles "Account Killer" and "Just Delete Me."

Follow @WTOP on Twitter.

© 2013 WTOP. All Rights Reserved.