0
Tweet
0
Print
RSS Feeds

328 drivers cited for texting in Va. since July 1

Tuesday - 10/22/2013, 12:18pm  ET

RICHMOND, Va. (AP) -- More than 300 motorists have been cited for texting while driving in Virginia since a new law went into effect July 1.

The law makes texting while driving a primary offense.

Virginia State Police said Tuesday that troopers cited 328 drivers from July 1 through Sept. 28 for violating the law.

Violators face a $125 fine for the first offense. Subsequent offenses carry a $250 fine.

State police Superintendent Col. W. Steven Flaherty says in a news release that texting while driving puts the driver, passengers and everyone else sharing the roadway at risk.


Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.